Macau Tower

Useful Information

Macau, also spelled Macao, is a Special Administrative Region (SAR) of People’s Republic of China. Located across the Pearl River Delta, Macau is a one-hour ride by high-speed ferry from Hong Kong. When visiting Macau and taking in its many sites (including Macau Tower), here is some useful information you should know.

Currency:Macau Pataca (MOP) is the official currency; however the Hong Kong Dollar is also accepted
Area:28.2 square kilometers
Language:Portuguese and Chinese (Cantonese) are the official languages; Mandarin and English are widely spoken in tourist areas
Electricity:220 volts, 50HZ (use a rounded 3-pin 5A and 15A plug and UK 13A plug)
Country Code:+853
Time Zone:UTC+8 (same as China Standard Time)


Macau is divided into three regions: the peninsula and two islands. However, reclamation of the area between Taipa and Coloane has created the fourth region of Cotai.

Macau Peninsula

The northernmost region connected to the Chinese mainland. It is a center of tourist activities and is densely populated.


The island south of the peninsula, accessible via three bridges. It is a major residential center and is the location of Macau’s International Airport.


A strip of reclaimed land between Coloane and Taipa, with a variety of new entertainment complexes and resorts.


The most southern island, it is considerably less developed than the other regions due to its mountainous terrain. It does have two beaches, several hiking trails and a resort.

For more information about traveling to Macau, including visa requirements and other details, visit